Skinny Dippin - Sevierville Cabin

Amazing Cabin With Private Indoor Pool, Pool Theater And Outdoor Fire Pit!
Sevierville, TN, US
4.0 (133 Reviews)
Cabin
Sleeps 6
1 Bedrooms
1.5 Baths
WiFi
No Pets
You won’t be charged yet.

The Cabin

  • Property type: Cabin
  • Sleeps: 6
  • Bedrooms: 1
  • Bathrooms: 1.5
  • Smoking: Non-smoking
  • Beds: King: 1, Sofa Bed: 2
  • Check In Time: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out Time: 10:00 AM
  • Min Renter Age: 21+
  • No Pets

Description

Amazing! A luxury cabin with fantastic location, indoor pool, pool theater room and outdoor fire-pit. You and your family will enjoy playing in the pool and game room, or relaxing in the great room. Enjoy the outdoors just outside the pool room on the pool deck or move to the 101 degree hot tub on the covered deck.

End the evening around the outdoor fire-pit and log benches.

Romantic king master suite with heart shaped jacuzzi tub, wood burning fireplace and full bath.

Great room and loft sleeping area for the kids. Sleeps 2 adults and 4 kids.

Free WIFI, fully equipped kitchen, washer and dryer in unit. Just 6 minutes to a major grocery store and 10 minutes to many of the popular attractions.

Bedroom and Sleeping Arrangements:

Main Level - King Suite: King Bed - Sleeps 2

Main Level - Great Room: Queen Sleeper - Sleeps 2

Loft (Futon): Queen Sleeper - Sleeps 2

Amenities

  • DVD Player
  • Cable Satellite
  • Air Conditioning
  • Washer Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Internet Access
  • Dishwasher
  • Nearby Grocery
  • Hot Tub
  • Indoor Pool
  • Wifi
  • Theater Room
  • Heated Pool
  • Grill
  • Mountain View
  • Near Dollywood

Location

Note: Travel times may vary based on season and area occupancy.

Availability

Host
Policies

Host Cancellation Policy

If you cancel your reservation 15 or more days prior to your arrival date a voucher for a future stay will be issued by host in the amount of the deposit less the reservation fee for use for a future stay within 365 days of the date of cancellation. If you cancel your reservation 14 days or less prior to arrival you will be responsible for the full reservation amount (you will forfeit the full deposit amount and the non-refundable reservation fee, and shall be responsible for the remaining rent amount and all other applicable charges associated with the reservation). Only the Guest named on the Agreement may cancel a reservation and cancellations must be made by phone call to Hosts Office.

Plans can be changed before 14 days prior to the scheduled check in with no penalty. No changes are permitted within 14 days of check in.

SmokyMountains.com Service Fee Cancellation Policy

If you choose to cancel or not use your reservation, the SmokyMountains.com Service Fee is always non-refundable.

Traveler Reviews

133 Reviews
4.0 out of 5
Summary
5
62%
4
22%
3
6%
2
4%
1
10%
Joshua W.
Mchenry, MS
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
2 out of 5
Reviewed May, 2020

Honeymoon and it’s downfall

Went on my honeymoon to the skinny dipping cabin and I was extremely excited about my week in the woods. Upon arrival was a little disappointed in the location and noise level at the cabin from the construction ton going on. Accepting the short comings of the location we tried to enjoy our time until walking down the stairs my heel caught one of the skinny steps into the basement forcing my foot to bend down breaking my toe and resorting in a 6 hour ER visit.

Would recommend to others? No
Host Response (May 17, 2020):

Thank you for allowing us to be a part of such a special celebration, Joshua. Congratulations! We are saddened to know you got hurt staying in one of our cabins. We strive to have the best and safest cabins in all the area and can ensure you we will have a technician inspect those stairs. It is disappointing to hear you were not able to enjoy your stay to its full potential. Unfortunately, the construction going on in the area is out of our control. We sincerely apologize and hope it does not deter you from visiting us in the future.

Timothy B.
Columbia , SC
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed October, 2020

Pleased with my stay!

The cabin was really nice! The communication up to the day of the stay was great. This was a first for us in a cabin. We were very pleased with everything!

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (October 03, 2020):

Thank you for your kind review, Timothy! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. Please keep in mind, as a returning guest you will enjoy 10% off all future stays. Hurry back, your next adventure awaits!

Melissa P.
Columbia City, IN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
1 out of 5
Reviewed October, 2020

Do NOT stay here! We left early!

Cabin was dirty, spider webs all over everything. Living room furniture old and dilapidated, couldn’t even sit on the couch! Bed was hard and very uncomfortable. Layout is terrible. Hand rails on stairs wobbly lose and not safe! So unhappy with stay we left and booked another cabin with another company so our vacation wasn’t ruined!!!!

Would recommend to others? No
Host Response (October 01, 2020):

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, Kristina. Your review truly alarms us. We have continually had guests in this cabin and have received great reviews from other guests. We can understand opinions can differ and try to factor that in, however, still are not able to see what you are describing here. It is like we are talking about 2 different cabins. We were unaware you were unhappy with the cabin until we received your email telling us you had checked out. As explained by our team member, we do not refund when you check out early if we were never given the opportunity to address any issues. We were not even made aware of the issues until now. We are sorry you felt you had to leave and ask that in the future, please communicate with us and give us an opportunity to assist you. We sincerely apologize and hope you understand it was not our intention to disappoint you.

Travis M.
Riceville , TN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed October, 2020

Nice place.

Nice place to stay very cool. I would suggest getting the AC window units properly installed. The tape holding the window filler drapes in is falling off. Also the alarm on the pool door is very annoying �� until you figure out how to use it. We will definitely stay again though. Thank you.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (October 01, 2020):

We are happy you enjoyed your stay, Travis. Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are happy to report the issue with the AC unit has been fixed. We can certainly understand the pool alarm can be a little intimidating at first. Instructions are posted next to the door, however, can be easily missed in the excitement of entering your own private pool! We are a family friendly company and keeping kids safe is our number one priority. These alarms are installed at each one of our pool cabins to insure small children can not access the pool area. Should they try, this alarm alerts everyone in the cabin immediately. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience experienced and hope to see you again soon!

Dina L.
Valparaiso, IN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
1 out of 5
Reviewed September, 2019

Don’t waste your 7

First the air conditioning sucked, the big windows let in evening sun so it gets pretty roasted in there. The window air conditioner was frozen up and the filter had about 2 inches worth of dirt on it I cleaned it, thawed the air conditioner. And turned it on the next day they did put in another window air conditioner. A couple of the staff were rude and the only one who was nice was Stephanie and the maintenance men. There was mold in the shower, downstairs was so full of spiders and their homes we felt like we were being invaded. We will not ever rent from elk springs resort. Every piece of furniture was uncomfortable, including the bed! And the fire pit showed Wood benches and there weren’t any at all. And it advertises a sauna, well you couldn’t even use it cause it states it’s not for guests. Bad way to conduct business!

Would recommend to others? No
Host Response (September 20, 2019):

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent cabin stay, Dina. It is regrettable that you found items that were not up to par. I do see that the extra window unit was replaced, as we did have some oddly warm weather over the last few weeks. We certainly apologize if this was an inconvenience to you. Typically, the big open windows add to the beauty of this cabin, and we have never had complaints about them. However, I have reported all of your concerns to the proper departments to be addressed. Although the AC issue is the only thing reported, I have taken the time to report the shower, spiders and furniture concerns to the correct departments as well. Please do not hesitate to mention these items during your stay, as we do offer 24/7 staff assistance. I did check our website and home page information. This cabin does not advertise a sauna, and I am very sorry it may have been confused with one of our other units. We have a staff full of friendly and professional individuals that strive to be the best in the business. We treat each of our customers with kindness and respect. Please know it was not our intention to disappoint you. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

Cristy M.
Homer Glen, IL
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed August, 2018

SKINNY DIPPIN'

This place was everything we were hoping for. Extremely clean. Great Location. we can't wait to come back and try another cabin.

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (August 03, 2018):

Thank you for your fantastic 5-star review, Cristy! It is fantastic to hear that we exceeded your expectations. You certainly chose a great cabin to relax and enjoy some time away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. We look forward to your next visit with us. Please keep in mind, as repeat visitors you will enjoy 10% off all future bookings!

Simpsonville, SC
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
4 out of 5
Reviewed April, 2015

Kids loved the pool and theater

The washing machine stopped working and had to be replaced but not until the next day. We only had a one night stay so we were not able to use it to wash clothes. Other than that everything was great!

Would recommend to others? Yes
Joston D.
Connersville , IN
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed December, 2019

Great cabin

Very nice and comfy!

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (December 08, 2019):

Thank you for your wonderful review, Joston! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. Remember, as a repeat visitor you will save 10% on future stays. Thank you!

Lori C.
Chicago, IL
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed June, 2017

Excellent Escape from Everyday Life

Our stay in the Skinny Dippin cabin was perfect for our family. The cabin was clean, roomy, and in a perfect location. You felt secluded enough, yet we're close to everything. Our kids, ages 10, 8, and 3, loved swimming in the pool and a playing some serious pool in the loft! We enjoyed relaxing, watching movies in the pool area, sitting on the front porch soaking up the views, soaking in the not tub,and grilling dinners. It was hard to leave and return home! We are recommending Elk Springs Resort to our family and friends. We will definitely be back!

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (June 30, 2017):

Thank you for your wonderful 5-Star review, Lori! As always, we enjoy hearing about happy family experiences with our cabin rental company. We do hope you plan to visit with us again soon. It sounds like you made the perfect cabin choice for your whole family to enjoy! Keep in mind, as a returning guest you will receive 10% off all future bookings.

Westphalia, MI
A green check mark graphic. Verified Guest
5 out of 5
Reviewed September, 2019

Great cabin

The cabin was awesome. Had a great time

Would recommend to others? Yes
Host Response (September 20, 2019):

We are delighted that you had such a great cabin stay, Dustin! Skinny Dippin is a beautiful cabin with lots of great amenities to enjoy and the location is great for accessing downtown Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. We loved having you as our guests, and we hope you will choose to visit with us often. Remember as returning customers you will receive 10% off future stays. Thank you!